Celebrating 2017 Charter Award Winners and Finalists

By Megan Gilbertson

Congratulations to all of the 2017 Charter Award winners and finalists! More than 100 people gathered Wednesday at the Hotel Palomar Phoenix to honor these outstanding examples of public charter school success. Guests included state legislators, corporate partners and last year’s award winners, who introduced the 2017 recipients.

The stories of our 2017 Charter Award winners and finalists are truly inspiring. These committed educators are positively impacting thousands of Arizona students, and we are thrilled to call them our Transformational Leader, Business Leader, Teacher and Charter School of the Year.

For the last two decades, our state has been a national leader in education freedom as evidence by the rapid growth of charter school enrollment. We at the Association have worked to provide a strong and unified voice for public charter schools.

Of course, school choice is no choice at all without quality options. Hard work remains to bring more excellent educators and schools like our 2017 Charter Award winners to ALL communities.

We’d like to thank all those who attended, and once again congratulate our award winners and finalists. We hope you enjoy our 2017 Charter Award videos below.

2017 Charter School School of the Year – Reid Traditional Schools’ Painted Rock Academy


2017 Charter Transformational Leader of the Year – Sara Maline Bohn, Arizona School for the Arts


2017 Charter Business Leader of the Year – Suzanne Drakes, AAEC Early College High School


​2017 Charter Teacher of the Year – Bonnie Weppner, Pioneer Preparatory School: A Challenge Foundation Academy


At the Ceremony – 2017 Award Winners and Finalists